Committee on Accounting, Auditing, and Financial Reporting (CAAFR)

The Committee on Accounting, Auditing, and Financial Reporting assists public finance officers in their efforts to utilize sound auditing and accounting standards and produce transparent financial reports on the health of state and local finance activities. The committee works closely with the GASB, the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, and other organizations and recommends best practices for effective government finance operations.

Members of the Committee

  • CHAIR: Melinda M. Gildart, CPA, MBA, Controller, Chicago Board of Education, Chicago, IL
  • Diane B. Allison, CPA, CGFO, Director of Business Services, Ascension Parish School Board, Donaldsonville, LA
  • Robert Balducci, Comptroller, New York City Water Finance Authority, New York, NY
  • Erin Ballou, CMA, CPFO, Assistant Chief Financial Officer, City of Bowling Green, Bowling Green, KY
  • Lana Berry, Financial Manager, City of Atlanta - Watershed Management, Atlanta, GA
  • Irella Blackwood, Chief Auditor, City & County of San Francisco, Castro Valley, CA
  • Terri Bryant, CPA, Controller, Denver Water Board, Denver, CO
  • Jerry Durham, CPA, CGFM, CFE, Assistant Director, State of Tennessee - Comptroller, Nashville, TN
  • Kimberly Francisco, Controller, City of Rockville, Rockville, MD
  • Scott Gully, Finance Director/ Tax Commissioner, Village of Indian Hill, Cincinnati, OH
  • Jodie Hartman, Director of Finance/Treasurer, Village of Lake Zurich, Lake Zurich, IL
  • Pamela M. Hodges, Controller, City of Carrollton, Carrollton, TX
  • Sara E. Jantz, Accounting Director, County of Sedgwick, Wichita, KS
  • Alexandra E. Johnson, CPA, Assistant Audit Manager, Washington State Auditor's Office, Olympia, WA
  • Dennis W. Kauffman, CPFO, CPA, Finance Operations Manager, City of Roseville, Roseville, CA
  • Michelle R. Kirby, Controller, City of Portland, Portland, OR
  • Sheri Larsen, Chief Deputy County Clerk, County of Douglas, Omaha, NE
  • Frances Lee, CPFO, Deputy CFO, SFPUC, Azusa, CA
  • Dan Legard, Finance Director, City of Kennewick, Kennewick, WA
  • Michele Mark Levine, CPA, Deputy Comptroller, New York City Office of the Comptroller, New York, NY
  • Grace Martinez, Deputy Director of Finance & Accounting, City of San Jose, San Jose, CA
  • Margaret Moggia, Chief Financial Officer, West Basin Municipal Water District, Carson, CA
  • Kelly Neal, Director of Finance, Town of Prosper, Prosper, TX
  • Mrs. Diane C. Reichard, Chief Financial Officer, City of Plant City, Plant City, FL
  • Debra L. Roberts, MBA CPA, Director of Finance, Maryland Supplemental Retirement Plans, Baltimore, MD
  • Anthony Rousseau, Assistant Director, Finance/Controller, City of Fort Worth, Fort Worth, TX
  • Ember Strange, Asst. Finance Director, City of Little Rock, Little Rock, AR
  • Stephanie M. Walker, CPA, CPFO, Director of Finance & Administration, City of Gaithersburg, Gaithersburg, MD


  • Stephen W. Blann, CPA, CGFM, Principal, Rehmann, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Irfan A. Bora, Director, Master's in Govt. Accounting Program, Rutgers University, Piscataway, NJ
  • John G. Hulsey, CGFM, Public Service Assistant, University of Georgia - C. Vinson Institute of Government, Gainesville, GA
  • Carol Jessup, Professor of Accountancy, University of Illinois - Springfield, Springfield, IL
  • Mona Stephens, Faculty, Southern New Hampshire University, Seattle, WA
  • Christopher Telli, Partner, BKD, LLP, Colorado Springs, CO


  • William F. Hall, Finance Director, Town of Bethel, Bethel, VT
  • Andrew J. Scott, City Budget Director, City of Portland, Portland, OR

GFOA Staff