Committee on Economic Development and Capital Planning (CEDCP)

As the role of local government continues to evolve, the finance officer is frequently being put in the unfamiliar position of leading economic development projects. In addition, it is becoming increasingly important for governments to consider development issues as they prepare and execute their long-term capital plans. These trends have prompted the executive board to create the Committee on Economic Development and Capital Planning, whose mission is "to assist finance officers to become knowledgeable participants in planning, evaluation, and execution of community/economic development and capital issues through the drafting and promotion of policies, procedures, and best practices."

Members of the Committee

  • CHAIR: Gary Donaldson, Chief Financial Officer, Orange County, NC
  • VICE CHAIR: William Jones, City Administrator, City of Mequon, WI
  • Laura Allen, Town Administrator, Town of Berlin, MD
  • Sonia Andrews, Finance Director, City of Peoria, AZ
  • Laurie Brewer, Assistant City Manager, City of Georgetown, TX
  • Susan Cohen, Manager, FasTracks Program Control, Denver, CO
  • Shelley Coleman, Finance Director, City of Auburn, WA
  • Mark Emanuelson, Finance Director, Village of Shorewood, WI
  • Donna Gayden, Village Administrator, Village of Glenwood, IL
  • Rodney Greek, Controller, San Diego County Water Authority, CA
  • Jason Greene, Financial Controls & Budget Manager, Miami-Dade Expressway Authority, FL
  • Robert Hartwig, Administrative Services Director, City of Shoreline, WA
  • Shirley Hughes, Finance Director, City of Boulder City, NV
  • Eric Johnson, Assistant County Administrator, Hillsborough County, FL 
  • Marita Kelley, Local Government Policy Specialist, Department of Community & Economic Development, PA
  • Tom Kelly, Finance Director, White Bear Township, MN
  • Nicole D. Kreiser, Debt Manager, Wake County, NC
  • Rana D. Lacer, Senior Vice President of Finance, Las Vegas Convention & Visitors Authority, NV
  • Angela Means, Financial Services Division Manager, City of Austin, TX
  • Francine Ramaglia, Assistant Village Manager, City of Delray Beach, FL
  • William Robertson, Director of Management & Budget, Roanoke County, VA
  • Walter Rossman, Assistant City Manager, City of Sunnyvale, CA
  • Eric Shertzing, Treasurer, Ingham County, MI
  • Kimberly Springer, Deputy Budget Officer, City of Austin, TX
  • Linda Witkowski, Budget Manager, Waukesha County, WI


  • Christopher Mier, Managing Director, Analytical Services Division, Loop Capital Markets, Chicago, IL
  • Richard Raphael, Managing Director-Head of US Public Finance, Fitch Rating, New York, NY
  • Ann Shawver, Owner/Consultant, Ann Harrity Shawver, CPA, PLLC
  • Nancy Zielke, Senior Director, Alvarez & Marshal Public Sector Services, Kansas City, MO


  • Lori Economy-Scholler, Chief Financial Officer, City of Bloomington, MN
  • Steve Williams, Assistant City Administrator/CFO, City of Conroe, TX

GFOA Staff