Committee on Governmental Budgeting and Fiscal Policy (BUDGET)

The Committee on Governmental Budgeting and Fiscal Policy advises GFOA and recommends policies in budgeting, management, and related public finance areas not addressed by other GFOA committees. The committee actively promotes the professionalism of budget practitioners through the development of best practices and researching various initiatives. In meeting these responsibilities, the committee serves as a forum for the exchange of information about emerging issues, concepts, and techniques in public budgeting and management.

Members of the Committee

  • CHAIR: David Schmiedicke, Finance Director, City of Madison, WI
  • VICE CHAIR: Ann M Carbone, Budget Director, City of Boston, West Roxbury, MA
  • Jesus Amezcua, Assistant Superintendent for Business, Harris County, TX
  • Sam Ashbaugh, Chief Financial Officer, City of Pittsburgh, PA
  • Chiquita Barkley, County Controller, Butts County Board of Comissioners, GA
  • Joe Beach, Chief Financial Officer, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission, MD
  • Matthew Brown, Budget Director, District of Columbia, Washington, DC
  • Michael Bryant, Management & Budget Director, Mecklenburg County, NC
  • Veronica Carrillo, Fiscal Administrator, City of San Antonio, TX
  • Brigette Clark, Director of Finance, Goose Creek Consolidated ISD, TX
  • Yvette Downs, CFO, Washington Suburban Sanitation Commission, Washington, DC
  • Monique Earl, Deputy Mayor, Budget and Financial Policy, City of Los Angeles, CA
  • Malisa Files, Deputy Finance Director, City of Redmond, WA
  • Jimmy Forbis, Finance Director, City of Gilroy, CA
  • David Gottesman, CountyStat Manager, Office of the Montgomery County Executive, MD
  • John Gross, Director of Financial Management, City of Long Beach, CA
  • Donita Harper, Deputy County Administrator/Finance Director, King George County, VA
  • Elizabeth Holleb, Finance Director, City of Lake Forest, IL
  • Scott Huizenga, Budget Officer, City of Kansas City, MO
  • Jack Ireland, Budget Director, City of Dallas, TX
  • Andrew Kleine, Budget Director, City of Baltimore, MD
  • Dan Mason, Budget & Fiscal Director, Washington State Office of the State Treasurer, WA
  • Sharon McGuire, OMB Director, City of Boca Raton, FL 
  • Amelia Merchant, Director, Department of Management and Budget, City of Roanoke, VA
  • Leyne Milstein, Director of Finance, City of Sacramento, CA


  • Natalie Cohen, Managing Director, Wells Fargo Securities LLC, New York, NY
  • Bradley Harris, Finance and Accounting Consultant, University of TN/Institute of Public Service/Municipal Technical Advisory Service, Dayton, TN 
  • Kevin Knutson, Regional Vice President, Management Partners
  • Michael Nadol, Managing Director, Public Financial Management, Philadelphia, PA


  • Jessica Brown-Linton, Assistant Finance Director, Durham County, NC
  • James Nicholson, Director of Finance, City of Pataskala, OH

GFOA Staff