Committee on Governmental Budgeting and Fiscal Policy (BUDGET) 

Committee in Brief

The Committee on Governmental Budgeting and Fiscal Policy advises GFOA and recommends policies in budgeting, management, and related public finance areas not addressed by other GFOA committees. The committee actively promotes the professionalism of budget practitioners through the development of best practices and researching various initiatives. In meeting these responsibilities, the committee serves as a forum for the exchange of information about emerging issues, concepts, and techniques in public budgeting and management.


Recommended Practices in Governmental Budgeting and Fiscal Policy 


2014 Winter Meeting Agenda


2013 Annual Conference Material


2013 Winter Meeting Material


2012 Annual Conference Material


CHAIR: Steven Gibson, OMB Director, OMB Director, City of Rock Hill, SC   
VICE CHAIR: Merrill King, Finance Director, City of Minnetonka, MN


GFOA Staff: John Fishbein and Shayne Kavanagh



  1. Tonya Anthony, Chief Administrative Officer, Chicago Park District, IL
  2. Joe Beach, Finance Director, Montgomery County Government, MD
  3. Crystal Dionne, Director of Finance and Personnel/Tax Collector, Bedford, NH
  4. Monique Earl, Deputy Mayor, Budget and Financial Policy, City of Los Angeles, CA
  5. Ernestine Cook, Fiscal Manager, County of Ventura, CA
  6. Malisa Files, Deputy Finance Director, City of Redmond, WA
  7. David Gottesman, CountyStat Manager, Office of the Montgomery County Executive, MD
  8. John Gross, Director of Financial Management, City of Long Beach, CA
  9. Donita Harper, Deputy County Administrator/Finance Director, King George County, VA
  10. Joan Jadali, Director of Finance and Administration, City of Webster Groves, MO
  11. Angela Joyner, Deputy Budget Director, Council of the District of Columbia - Office of the Budget Director
  12. Yolanda King, Director of Budget and Financial Planning, Clark County, NV
  13. Andrew Kleine, Budget Director, City of Baltimore, MD
  14. Dawn Lang, Assistant Director for Finance, City of Chandler, AZ
  15. Amelia Merchant, Director, Department of Management and Budget, City of Roanoke, VA
  16. Fran McAskill, Support Services Director, Polk County Government, FL
  17. Leyne Milstein, Director of Finance, City of Sacramento, CA
  18. Mickie Pearsall, Budget Manager, Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District, WI
  19. James Pehrson, Finance Director/Comptroller, Cobb County Board of Commissioners, GA
  20. Lynn Sapyta, Asst. VP of Financial Affairs & Comptroller, College of DuPage, IL
  21. David Schmiedicke, Finance Director, City of Madison, WI
  22. Andrew Scott, Financial Planning Manager, City of Portland, OR
  23. Patricia Weiler, Director of Finance and Administration, City of Manassas, VA



  1. Natalie Cohen, Managing Director, Wells Fargo Securities LLC, New York, NY
  2. Carol Ebdon, Associate Professor, University of Nebraska at Omaha
  3. Bradley Harris, Finance and Accounting Consultant, University of TN/Institute of Public Service/Municipal Technical Advisory Service, Dayton, TN 
  4. Michael Nadol, Managing Director, Public Financial Management, Philadelphia, PA
  5. Gabe Petek, Senior Director, Standard & Poor's, San Francisco, CA



  1. Ade’ Ariwoola, Finance Director for the City of Federal Way, WA
  2. Marc Gonzales, Director, Department of Finance, Clackamas County, OR


Additional Resources on Budgeting and Fiscal Policy


Committee Business
















2000 - 2001 Activities

Web AdministratorMembership information | Training information | Publication information | Login/Password Assistance

Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada
203 N. LaSalle Street - Suite 2700 | Chicago, IL 60601-1210 | Phone: (312) 977-9700 - Fax: (312) 977-4806