2021 Virtual Conference Sessions: Risk Assessment

Browse by topic:

Sessions for Monday, July 12

No risk assessment sessions for July 12

Sessions for Tuesday, July 13

No risk assessment sessions for July 13

Sessions for Wednesday, July 14

No risk assessment sessions for July 14

Sessions for Thursday, July 15

No risk assessment sessions for July 15

Sessions for Friday, July 16

Fri
16 Jul
11:00 AM-11:50 AM ET

Thinking Probabilistically: The Essential Risk Management Tool

Without probabilities, the only way to deal with risk is the gut. Unfortunately, research has shown that using your gut feel to manage risk leads to inconsistent, overconfident, and just plain wrong decisions. The insurance industry, for examples, is based on probabilistic thinking and some of the same concepts that make insurance companies successful can be used to help local governments make better decisions. In this session you will learn about essential concepts in applying probabilities that will help you see uncertainty in the world differently and help you make better decisions for your organization.

1 CPE credit

Sessions for Monday, July 19

Mon
19 Jul
11:00 AM-12:15 PM ET

Political Risk and its Consequences

Government is inherently political and with politics comes disagreement, uncertainty, and emotion. However, the nature of our politics has changed in recent years and, with it, the level of risk for government. Political conflict today is characterized by decreasing trust in institutions and deteriorating norms of governance. In this session we will explore how this risk threatens good public finance and what can be done about it.

1 CPE credit

Sessions for Tuesday, July 20

No risk assessment sessions for July 20

Sessions for Wednesday, July 21

No risk assessment sessions for July 21

Sessions for Thursday, July 22

No risk assessment sessions for July 22

Sessions for Friday, July 23

No risk assessment sessions for July 23