Member Alert: Coronavirus Relief Fund

CLICK HERE to see if your jurisdiction is eligible. 

The CARES Act established the $150 billion Coronavirus Relief Fund when it passed Congress on March 24. Through the Coronavirus Relief Fund, the CARES Act provides for payments to State, Local, and Tribal governments navigating the impact of the COVID-19 outbreak.

By April 24, 2020, Treasury will make payments from the Fund to States and eligible units of local government. Guidance still suggests that only individual (non-regional, non-utility) local governments jurisdictions with populations greater than 500,000 are eligible. The methodology the United States Treasury will use to distribute the funds is located in this link.

The CARES Act requires that the payments from the Coronavirus Relief Fund only be used to cover expenses that—

  1. are necessary expenditures incurred due to the public health emergency with respect to the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID–19);
  2. were not accounted for in the budget most recently approved as of March 27, 2020 (the date of enactment of the CARES Act) for the State or government; and
  3. were incurred during the period that begins on March 1, 2020, and ends on December 30, 2020.

Additional information on eligible uses of Fund disbursements by governments will be posted as it becomes available by the United States Treasury.

A unit of local government eligible for receipt of direct payment includes a county, municipality, town, township, village, parish, borough, or other unit of general government below the State level with a population that exceeds 500,000. Eligible local governments must submit the certification required by the CARES Act to Treasury by the deadline set forth below in order to receive payment.

CLICK HERE to see if your jurisdiction is eligible. 

Governments eligible for payments must provide payment information and required supporting documentation through the electronic form accessible below. To ensure payments are made within the 30 day period specified by the CARES Act, governments must submit completed payment materials not later than 11:59 p.m. EDT on April 17, 2020. Eligible local and Tribal governments that do not provide required information—and in the case of a local government, the required certification—by 11:59 p.m. EDT on April 17, 2020, may not receive any payment from the Fund.