GFOA Recognition for Outstanding Public Service

GFOA Recognition for Outstanding Public Service honors individual GFOA members for their dedication to the profession, their colleagues, their organizations, and their communities. The work of finance professionals is critical to government's ability to serve, but often occurs behind the scenes. GFOA's membership network includes many individuals who exemplify the role of public servant, working to support others, lead organizations through both good times and bad, and make a positive impact on those they serve.

Please help us tell their story as a way of recognizing their achievements and motivating others. Recognizing the impact of public finance officers on their organizations and communities is also one of the best ways to recruit new workers to this profession.


All GFOA members are eligible to to be recognized with this program or nominate someone who mas made a difference, exemplified the values in GFOA's code of ethics, or served as a role model for the public finance profession.


GFOA will recognize nominees for their outstanding public service at GFOA's 118th Annual Conference in Orlando and throughout 2024. Recipients do not need to attend the conference to be recognized.

Note: If the nomination meets the requirement of GFOA's Hero Award, the nominee may also receive that award.

Nomination Form

To nominate an outstanding public finance professional for their public service and dedication to the profession, please complete the form below by May 10.