Awards for Excellence in Government Finance

Award applications are open now through August 25, 2023.

GFOA's Awards for Excellence in Government Finance recognize innovative programs - contributions to the practice of government finance that exemplify outstanding financial management. The awards stress practical, documented work that offers leadership to the profession and promotes improved public finance. Entries may be submitted for consideration in one of the following Award for Excellence categories:

  • Creative Solution to Common Challenge
  • Exceptionally Well Implemented GFOA Best Practice

Criteria examined when considering an application for the award include: local significance and value, technical significance, transferability, documentation, the cost/benefit analysis, efficiency, originality, and durability. Membership in the GFOA is not required to apply for an award.

Application Process

Award Eligibility

Learn More

Award Criteria

Learn More

Award Fees

Learn More

Online Application

Apply Online

GFOA relies on governments to showcase successful demonstrations of best practice and innovative concepts to educate peer organizations. Winners and those nominating entities for consideration can be proud that creative and innovative projects will provide examples for other jurisdictions to follow, promoting best practices in government finance.