Current CPFO Program

Information for the Current CPFO Program

The Certified Public Finance Officers Program for GFOA is a broad educational self-study program designed to verify knowledge in the disciplines of government finance. To earn the designation of Certified Public Finance Officer (CPFO), candidates must pass a series of five examinations covering the major disciplines of public finance. A candidate has seven years in which to successfully complete the program. Once earned, the CPFO designation is maintained by participating in 30 hours of continuing professional education each year or 60 hours over a two year period.

The Certification Program requires the following examinations:

  • Governmental Accounting, Auditing, and Financial Reporting
  • Treasury and Investment Management
  • Debt Management
  • Operating and Capital Budgeting
  • Retirement & Benefits, Risk Management, and Procurement

Current Applications for Exams and Overall Program Eligibility

2020 Application for GFOA Certification Examinations - Continuing Candidate Only - On-site Testing

2020 Application for GFOA Certification Examinations - Continuing Candidate Only - Online Remote Proctoring

Candidates' Guide to Becoming a Certified Public Finance Officer

Program Administration

GFOA's CPFO program is governing by the Council on Certification under the direction of the GFOA Executive Board. For more information on the CPFO program, please contact Eric Roach.

Certification Renewal and Continuing Education Requirements

Submit CPE Credits

Guide for Obtaining CPE Credit for Certified Public Officers