Linda R. Savitsky

Retired Director of Municipal Finance Services
State of Connecticut's Office of Policy and Management

Linda R. Savitsky heads her own consulting practice, which provides services to regional and local governments in CT. Until her retirement in 2003, she was the Director of Municipal Finance Services for the State of Connecticut's Office of Policy and Management. From 1978 to 1992, she served as Director of Finance for the Connecticut municipalities of Shelton, Cheshire and Groton.

Ms. Savitsky has a B.A. in Government from Clark University (MA) and has taken graduate courses at the University of Bridgeport and the University of New Haven. She attended the Inaugural Advanced Government Finance Institute at Georgetown University.

From 1997-98 she served as the President of the Government Finance Officers Association of the US and Canada. She served as the Chair of the Strategic Training Task Force from 1993-95 which led to the establishment of the GFOA Certification Program. She has been a member of the Certification Council for almost 20 years and currently serves as the Chair.

She has been a member of the CT GFOA since 1978, having served as President from 1983-84. In 1997, she received the Albert F. Young Award for Significant Contribution to the Government Finance Profession presented by the Connecticut Government Finance Officers Association.

She recently completed a ten-year term on the Board of Trustees of Clark University, where she served as Secretary of the Board; Chair of the Community Affairs and Social Responsibility Committee and member of the Executive Committee. She served as Acting Chair of the State Insurance and Risk Management Board of the State of CT for five years and as a member for twelve. She is currently a Corporator for the Boys' and Girls' Club of Lower Naugatuck Valley and Corporator of the Griffin Health Services Corporation.

She has previously served as the President of the CT Valley Girl Scouts Council and was co-chair of the Realignment Council for the Girl Scouts of CT. She was a member of the CT Resources Recovery Board of Directors and served as Chair of the Finance Committee.