GFOA Documents

New GFOA President, President-Elect, and Executive Board Members Announced


(Chicago, Illinois-May 18, 2020) Marion M. Gee, Director of Finance, Metropolitan St. Louis Sewer District, St. Louis, Missouri, became the new president of the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) at the association’s annual business meeting on May 18 during its 2020 Virtual Conference. During the past year, Gee served on the Executive Board as president-elect. He has been a member of the Executive Board since 2016. Gee follows 2019–2020 President Terry S. Stone, Assistant Superintendent for Business and Operations, Hanover County Public Schools, Virginia.

Also at the business meeting, the association’s members elected a new GFOA president-elect and five new members of the association’s Executive Board.Michael A. Bryant, Assistant County Manager, County of Mecklenburg, North Carolina, is the new GFOA president-elect. He will succeed Gee as president of the association in June 2021 at the Annual Conference in Chicago, Illinois. GFOA Executive Director Chris Morrill said that Bryant was elected by his peers because of his proven leadership in the government finance profession. His experience as Budget Director and Assistant County Manager in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina, are very relevant to the challenges our members currently face. GFOA is fortunate to have Michael Bryant’s skills and passion for public service as he leads the organization through these turbulent times. Bryant has served on the Executive Board since 2017.

The five new members-at-large of the Executive Board will each serve a three-year term beginning immediately. New board members are:Laurie M. Brewer, Assistant City Manager, City of Georgetown, Texas; Tanya Garost, Chief Financial Officer, District of Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada; Rafiu O. Ighile, CPA, Director of Finance, City of Gaithersburg, Maryland; Brandon Kauffman, Finance Director, City of Lincoln, Nebraska; and Margaret Moggia, Executive Manager of Finance, West Basin Municipal Water District, California.

Contact: Chris Morrill, Executive Director/CEO

Phone: 312/977-9700

Fax: 312/977-4806

  • Publication date: May 2020