New President, President-elect, Executive Board Members of Government Finance Officers Association for 2016−2019

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Marc Gonzales, Director, Department of Finance, Clackamas County, Oregon, became the new president of the Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada (GFOA) at the association’s annual business meeting on May 24, 2016. During the past year, Gonzales served on the Executive Board as president-elect. He has been a member of the Executive Board since 2012. Gonzales accepted the gavel from 2015-2016 President Heather A. Johnston, City Manager, City of Burnsville, Minnesota.

Also at the business meeting, the association’s members elected a new GFOA president-elect and five new members of the association’s Executive Board. Patrick J. McCoy, Director of Finance, Metropolitan Transportation Authority, New York, New York,  is the new GFOA president-elect. He will succeed Gonzales as president of the association in May 2017 at the Annual Conference in Denver, Colorado. GFOA Executive Director Jeffrey L. Esser said McCoy was elected by his peers because of his outstanding leadership ability and stature as a public finance professional. McCoy has served on the Executive Board since 2013.

The five new members-at-large of the Executive Board will each serve a three-year term beginning immediately. New board members are:Gary Donaldson, CTP, Chief Financial Officer, Orange County, North Carolina; Marion M. Gee, Director of Finance, Metropolitan St. Louis Sewer District, Missouri; Merrill S. King, Finance Director, City of Minnetonka, Minnesota; James M. Nicholson, Director of Finance, City of Pataskala, Ohio; and Dawn L. Lang, Management Services Director, City of Chandler, Arizona.